Incident at the Sheppard-Yonge Station

I saw a young man and woman fighting at the bus level of the Sheppard-Yonge Station.  She was screaming, “He’s attacking me!  He’s attacking me!”  There were about 20 to 30 people in the station watching.  There was also a TTC bus driver on an 84 Sheppard West bus loading passengers from the station.  No one was doing anything.  The man stopped approaching the women when I blocked his path.  I shouted to the bus driver to call the police.  The passengers on the bus were watching.  It’s hard to believe that the driver did not hear me shouting to call the police, or the woman screaming.  He kept looking straight ahead.  And then he drove away.

Although I had stopped the man from approaching the woman, the woman did not stop from running around me to punch and kick the man all the while screaming, “He’s attacking me!  He’s attacking me!”  I gave up trying to keep them apart after she did this a second time.

Naturally, the TTC Enforcement Officers weren’t around.  But there are lots of posters of TTC Enforcement Officers on the walls of trains and all the subway stations.  The posters state how the officers are concerned about our safety.

 

 

The woman tried to stop the man from leaving the station on his bicycle, but he got away.  She continued screaming and kicking at the doors at the station after the man left.  These doors are washrooms for the drivers or rooms for cleaning supplies and equipment.  She was angry no one from the TTC helped her.  I had dialed 911 from a nearby payphone and handed the phone to her when she stopped kicking the doors.

Another TTC driver went into a washroom when the woman wasn’t looking.  She saw him when he came out and screamed and swore at him for not coming to her aid.  I explained to him what had happened, and he explained to her that he wasn’t in the washroom when she needed help.  He stayed with her waiting for the police.  I left my name and number with him in case the police wanted to ask me questions.

I received a phone call from a police officer an hour after I had left.  I thought police interview witnesses by saying, “Tell me what happened, and please talk slowly because I am writing this down.”  The officer did not say this.  Before I said anything he said, “I want you to tell me what you saw and NOT what you think.  Don’t tell me what you think.  Tell me only what you saw.”  Then he proceeded to grill me with questions.  I felt as if I was a suspect and not a witness.  The officer had his mind made up about what had happened, and wanted me to confirm it.  His questions seemed to want to get me to say that I saw the man attacking the woman, but that’s not exactly what I saw.  And his questions and stern tone, as if I was a child, threw off my concentration.  I didn’t get a chance to tell everything because he kept interrupting me with questions.  And he wasn’t interested in the TTC driver who drove away as a possible witness.

This incident happened Wednesday, July 19.  It’s taken me three days to be able to write about it coherently.  When I tried to write about it on Thursday and Friday, clumps of words would come and then I would get upset and have to stop.  I didn’t realize that I was so upset.

Why was I upset?

  •  A woman was screaming for help.  I was scared, but I was the only one who went to her aid, and then call the police.  In doing so, I missed two buses which made me late for where I had to go.
  •   I didn’t get hurt, but I could have when I blocked the man’s path.
  •  A TTC bus driver ignored my request to call the police.
  •  Seeing a woman go berserk screaming and kicking doors because no one from the TTC had helped her.
  •  The police questioning me as if I was a suspect and not a witness.

I feel a little better now that I have written about it.  The passage of time will take away the remaining bad feelings.

Do you think the 84 Sheppard West bus driver has any bad feelings, and can look at himself in the mirror when he shaves?

 

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on July 22, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

