Extraordinary Moments

My life is a series of extraordinary moments, but sometimes I forget this.  Actually, more than sometimes I forget this.  I allow superficial circumstances to distract me from the miracles.

What miracles?  Reading and writing come to mind.  You are reading black marks on a screen that I first put down on paper with a pencil.  And then I typed and posted them.  Time and distance separates us, yet I am still able to communicate my thoughts to you. The same applies when we read a book of black marks written by someone from a distant time and place.  Time and distance cannot stop communication.  Isn’t that extraordinary?

I don’t appreciate the extraordinary moments when I get annoyed because I don’t get a seat on the crowded subway.  I forget that I am traveling distances and speeds my ancestors could never have conceived of.  I get irritated at standing in a line at the grocery store instead of focusing on how wonderful it is that I can walk and stand.  I worry about not having enough money forgetting that I have always survived by money showing up out of nowhere, and through the generosity family and friends.

It is in my best interests to look past the daily trivialities, and be grateful that every day my life is full of extraordinary moments.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on June 20, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

