The Trigonometry Excuse

 

It’s been a week since I have written anything.  I always look for excuses not to write. Trigonometry is a good excuse.

I have mentioned before how I am teaching myself the math I avoided learning in high school. For the past week, I grappled with the basics of Trigonometry.  Even though learning is fun, I still resist learning new things—especially the math I hated in high school.  I wanted to quit because I was not understanding the concepts, but I kept grappling.  And finally, I got it!

Wow! I understood!  I understood!  I understood sines, cosines, and tangents.  I understood cosecants, secants and cotangents.  I understood how the Greek letter Theta (zero with a line through the middle) represents the degrees of an angle.  I understood!

What a natural high finally understanding Trigonometry, and solving Trigonometry problems!  If they ever make Trigonometry illegal, then I’ll get arrested for sure.

I’m like a child who has just learned to walk on his or her hind legs.  I’m stomping around laughing and enjoying my new-found power!

So there’s my excuse for not writing: I was learning Trigonometry.  Deep down, I know that I still could have written while learning Trigonometry.  But please allow me to fool myself into thinking that learning Trigonometry took all my energy, and I had none left to write. Thanks.

 

https://youtu.be/X5uFqpypDy4

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on June 15, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

