Another Happy Employee

I found a cut-open box of Dare Oatmeal cookies this morning while shopping at Loblaws Empress.  The cut was the same as in the above picture, but not as obvious.

Since there were no employees stocking shelves nearby, I took the cut box of cookies to the self-checkout with my other items.  I approached the cashier who managed the self-checkout lanes.

“Excuse me, but this box is—”

“What do you want?” she said.

I did not see her name tag, but I’m sure it said Scowl.

“I noticed this box of cookies was cut.”

“So?  What do you want me to do?”

Scowl’s question surprised me.  I was expecting, “Oh thank you, sir, for letting us know.”

“You can’t sell it like that, can you?” I said.

Scowl glared at me as I held the box of cookies.

I waited a bit and then asked, “What do you want me to do with them?”

Scowl rolled her eyes, sighed and then said, “Just leave them there.”

I put them on the counter she stood at with the terminal that monitors all the self-checkout machines.

While I was checking out my groceries, I saw Scowl take the box and put it in a shopping cart near the checkout lanes.  I assume this cart contained other items that customers decided not to buy.  At some point, these items go back on the shelves.

The world is full of happy employees.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on May 26, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

