A False Alarm at the Yonge/Eglinton Centre

I have never been in a building when the fire alarm went off and there was a real fire.  But the number of times I have experienced false alarms exceeds Donald Trump’s gaffes.

This afternoon, at 5:45, I was in the Yonge/Eglinton Centre when the fire alarm went off.  It was beeps and not bells.  I sniffed.  No smoke.  I carried on with my business, and so did everyone else as suggested by the picture.  The only people taking the alarm seriously were the security guards:

“YOUR ATTENTION, PLEASE.  YOUR ATTENTION.  THIS IS THE YONGE/EGLINTON SECURITY.  THE FIRE ALARM HAS SOUNDED AND IS BEING INVESTIGATED.  PLEASE STAND BY FOR FURTHER INSTRUCTIONS.”

Security guards were the only ones standing by for further instructions.  They stood at various points in the mall scrutinizing their surroundings.  Everyone else was carrying on as if there was no fire alarm.

The only store I saw close was the Indigo Books.  They had kicked out their customers and closed the clear folding doors to the mall.

It made me laugh out loud to see an Indigo employee inside the store wearing a yellow hard hat.  How incongruent to see this woman in her dark Indigo Books uniform wearing a yellow hard hat!

Obviously, she was the fire warden for that store.  Every workplace has one or more.  She likely had a day-long seminar on fire safety, and how to put on a hard hat.  I don’t know how a hard hat helps you to breathe during a fire, but there are a lot of things I don’t know.

 I saw the Indigo fire warden just before exiting the Yonge/Eglinton Centre to walk back to the Northern District Library.

As I write this, 7:30 pm, the Yonge/Eglinton Centre is still standing.  `

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on May 19, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

