On Grief II

Although I was surprised at shedding tears over my mother’s death, after 15 years, I know that there is nothing wrong with me.  There is no normal when it comes to grieving.  After a thousand years, something could trigger tears over her death.  The best way to deal with a feeling is to feel it.  Suppressing feelings can cause illness.

I cried, but I also laughed at my crying.   I laughed because I was feeling smug about being in the Acceptance stage.   The Acceptance stage jumped back to the Anger stage.  Who knows what stage of grief I am in?

Why not add Confusion to the stages of grief.  That would make them the six stages of grief: Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, Acceptance and Confusion.

So, I am learning to live with the pain, and I am learning to laugh with the pain.  And to some I am a pain, but that’s another blog.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on May 16, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

