Some Thoughts on Mother’s Day

Ma!  Nice to think of you again.  I miss you.  I miss your macaroni and cheese.  I miss your Spanish rice.  I miss the funny words you had for things.  I miss your laughter.  I miss how even in your senior years you never stopped acting like a little girl.

Ma, I was thinking that you could have just told me to stop buying you gifts for Mother’s Day.  You didn’t have to die.  Oh well, you always had good reasons for doing things.

I don’t think I could ever thank you enough for raising me and looking after me and all the sacrifices you made for me.   I hope you realize just how grateful I am.  I know I never said “Thank you” enough while you were alive.  And I should have said, “I love you” more too.  Joni Mitchell said it best with the words, “Don’t it always seem to go that you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone . . . “

Thanks Ma.  I love you.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on May 14, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

