It’s A Wonderful Life

A girlfriend once said to me, “Gary, you don’t realize the affect you have on people and how much people like you.”  I suppose I don’t because of my low self-esteem.  But every so often people will remind me how much they like me.

Recently some friends went to a lot of trouble to organize and host a boosha party for me. (Boosha is Birthday for the uninitiated.) They also collected money for me to put towards getting my teeth fixed.

How embarrassing!  I felt that I did not deserve their effort and money.  I had agreed to the dinner party thinking that it was going to be just me with three other friends.  The host had lied when inviting me.  It was more than three other friends.  The friends who could not be there mailed me boosha cards with money.

Wow!  My friends did this for me?  I started to babble about how they shouldn’t have gone to so much trouble, and how I didn’t deserve the money, but they interrupted me, “Gary, shut up!” they said.  “Just say ‘Thank you.’ ”

And so to my friends, I am still embarrassed and feel undeserving, but I am grateful for your kindness, affection, and friendship.   I feel like George in It’s A Wonderful Life.  At the end of the movie, the angel Clarence gives George The Adventures of Tom Sawyer with an inscription:

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on May 4, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

