A Pop Up Memory

Lately, for no reason, memories pop into my mind out of nowhere.  There is nothing to connect these memories with what I am doing or seeing when they pop up.

Today I remembered how my father had cable television in his room at the nursing home.  We canceled the cable just after my father died.  What sense was there in keeping the cable when Dad no longer had any interest in watching television?  The cable company sent us a bill with a penalty for not giving them enough notice for the cancellation.  I remember the telephone call with the cable company’s service rep.

“We should not have to pay the penalty,” I said.

“We require 15 days notice for canceling cable,” said the rep.

“But we didn’t know that our father was going to die.”

“That doesn’t matter.  We require 15 days notice for cancellation of services.”

“I understand that policy applying to people who are still alive after they suddenly cancel your service.  But we did not know 15 days in advance that our father was going to die.”

“I’m sorry, sir, but that is our policy.”

I asked to talk to a supervisor.  The supervisor maintained that we had to pay the penalty for not giving 15 days notice.

“Okay,” I said, “we will pay the penalty.  And then I am going to go to the newspapers and show them how your company charged us a penalty for not knowing our father was going to die 15 days in advance.”

Pause.

“Well now, sir, you don’t have to do that.  We will make an exception in this case and waive the penalty fee.  You need only pay for the service.”

“Thank you,” I said.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on May 3, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

