“Nice To See You Again . . . “

“Nice to see you again.  Too bad it was under these circumstances.”

That’s all I heard at Aunt Marie’s funeral.  All of us in attendance rarely see each other except at funerals.

“Nice to see you again . . . ” is often followed by, “We should get together sometime.”

“Yes, we should.”

Everyone says this, but usually no one ever gets together.  And then another funeral happens and  “Nice to see you again . . . “

Besides seeing people I haven’t seen in years, how nice to see both of my daughters at the same time.  At the gravesite, I had my arms around my daughters the way I used to hold them when they were little girls.  Gawd that felt good!  They used to call it a daddy sandwich. The minister went on and on at the gravesite, but I didn’t care.  I could have held my girls forever!

There was a reception after the funeral.  We ate finger foods and drank soft drinks during our light conversations.  When people left the reception to return to a life without Aunt Marie, they said, “Nice to see you again.  Too bad it was under these circumstances “

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on May 2, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

