Happy Birthday, Didi!

Today is my baby’s birthday.  She is older than this picture.

My baby’s birth name is Elizabeth, but we call her Didi (DeeDee).  When Elizabeth was still in a crib, her slightly older sister would point at the crib and say, “Dee Dee Dee Dee Dee Dee . . .”  Was her slightly older sister trying to say, “Baby”?  Who knows? That is how Elizabeth got her nickname.

Didi was supposed to be a boy.  Some psychics had said so.  Also, my ex-wife was carrying Didi differently than Didi’s slightly older sister.  For Didi’s sister, my ex-wife was big all over. People said that meant that it was a girl and it was.  With Didi, my ex-wife looked as if she had swallowed a basketball.  She was big in the belly only.  People said that it meant it was a boy and it wasn’t.  So much for the psychics and how a woman carries.

I was not disappointed that Didi was a girl.  Whatever came out was exactly what I wanted.  There was no way I could be disappointed.

Didi used to say, “Snowsnoot.”  That was the correct pronunciation of “Snowsuit.”

“Daddy, are you gonna wash my snowsnoot?”

“Your what?”

“My snowsnoot, Daddy, my snowsnoot.”

“Your snowsnoot?”

“Yeah, Daddy, my snowsnoot.”

I had heard her the first time, but I always tried to get her to say it as much as possible without letting her know that I loved the cute way she said it.

Several years ago, my baby had a baby.  Now he is old enough to pronounce words in cute ways.  And so life goes on.

Happy Birthday, Didi!

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on February 26, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

