What Do You Write About . . . ?

What do you write about when you don’t know what to write about?  You just start writing and something will come out.

Perhaps what wants to be written won’t come out because of all the noise in the library.  I have blogged about how libraries are no longer places of silence.  I wear earplugs, but I can still hear talking and laughing and cell phone conversations.

I wish libraries had Silent Zones.  In these Silent Zones, there would be no talking, no laughing, no cell phone conversations.  A Silent Zone means exactly that—SILENCE.  And Silent Zones would be strictly enforced.  People talking, laughing or using cell phone would be hanged.  But if that is too harsh, then they would have to leave the Silent Zone for the rest of the day.

Lots of people are afraid of silence.  They must have a radio, music or televisions on all the time.

The fear of silence is called Sedatephobia.  Sedate is from the Greek for silent or sleeping or dead.  Phobia is from Phobos, the Greek God of fear.

I have used the word phobia a lot.  I never knew that it came from the Greek God of fear.  The Roman equivalent is Timor.  Now I know where timid came from.

I should be grateful for the noisy people at the library.  If it wasn’t for them, then I would never have looked up the fear of silence.  I may never have learned about Sedatephobia, Phobos, and Timor.

Now . . . what shall I write about?

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on February 22, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. In Hong Kong public libraries, using mobile phones is not allowed and somebody will tell you to shut up if you talk.

Leave a Reply

