“Do I Look Like . . . ?”

camh

 

 

After leaving the Northern District Library, I cut through the Yonge Eglinton Centre to get to the subway.  There are stores as well as pop-up booths in the Centre.

The Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) had a pop-up booth set up.  As I walked by the young man at the booth approached me and asked, “Excuse me, sir, can I talk to you?”

“What?” I said.  “Do I look like I need help?”

“No, sir.”

“Because I don’t smoke, drink or take drugs.  I don’t even drink coffee.”

“No sir it’s not that.”

“I don’t think I have any mental health issues, but my family and friends may disagree.”

“No sir, it’s not about your mental health.”

“Then what do you want to talk to me about?”

“We’re raising money for CAMH,” he said.

I looked him straight in the eye and said, “Do I look like I have money?”

He laughed out loud.  I laughed out loud, and then I walked away.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on February 8, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

