Driving Myths

Recently I drove with my daughters in the car.  Both screamed at me for changing lanes within an intersection.  The car ahead of me had stopped to make a left turn. I passed it on the right after safely changing lanes.  I was still within the intersection when I did so.

“You broke the law!” screamed one daughter.

“You can’t change lanes in an intersection,” said the other.  “It’s illegal.”

I said that I had never heard of this law and was knowledgeable when it came to traffic laws. My daughters ridiculed me for being old and not knowing what they knew.  They took great pleasure in going on and on and on about it.

Part of the Highway Traffic Act, an Ontario statute, deals with traffic laws.  There is nothing is the Highway Traffic Act about changing lanes within an intersection.  The only law about changing lanes is that a lane change must be done safely.  The onus is on the driver making the lane change to make sure that it is done safely.

When we got to where we were going, I went online to check about lane changes within an intersection.  I discovered that a lane change within an intersection was just another driving myth.  I had never heard of this one.  The other two driving myths mentioned were how it’s illegal to drive with no shoes on, and illegal to drive with no shirt on.  These two I had heard of and believed until I studied the Highway Traffic Act.

How nice it would have been if my daughters had said, “Gee, Dad, we’re sorry for doubting your great wisdom and experience.”  Yes, that would have been nice.  But when I showed my daughters the information proving them wrong I was quickly cut off.

“See?”  I said. “Changing lanes within an intersection is a driving myt—-”

“Okay. Okay,” interrupted one daughter. “You don’t have to go on about it.”

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on January 31, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

