When I First Moved Out . . .

A lot of young adults still live at home with their parents.  I couldn’t wait to move out to get a place of my own.  I moved to Vancouver, British Columbia, to pursue a girlfriend.

My mother had taught me how to sew and do laundry.  She had not taught me how to cook. The only food I knew how to prepare was baloney sandwiches.  I had cereal for breakfast, and baloney sandwiches for lunch and dinner.

I started to tire of baloney sandwiches after three weeks.  I decided that I should cook good food.  My idea of good food was a can of Chef Boyardee Spaghetti and Meatballs.  So I went out and bought a can of Chef Boyardee Spaghetti and Meatballs.  I got home.  I took out a pot. And then?  And then I discovered that I did not have a can opener.  One more night of baloney sandwiches.  The next day I bought a can opener thinking how I did not have to worry about having a can opener while living at home.

Over the years my cooking skills improved, and so did my definition of good food.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on January 19, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

