The Moon’s Phases

 

I spent several hours writing the dates and times of the 2017 Moon Phases in my date book and programming them into my cell phone.  The Moon’s Phases have always fascinated me, and I like to know when they will happen—especially the New Moon.  Each New Moon is a time of renewal and a new beginning just like a new year.

We have no Blue Moons in 2017, but we have a Black Moon on August 21.

A Blue Moon has two definitions:

  1. The third Full Moon in a season with four Full Moons, or
  2. The second Full Moon in the same calendar month.

A Black Moon also has two definitions:

  1. The third New Moon in a season with four New Moons, or
  2. The second New Moon in the same calendar month.

The third New Moon for the summer happens on August 21 during a Solar Eclipse.  It will be a Partial Solar Eclipse in Toronto, Canada, but a Total Solar Eclipse in parts of the United States.

A penumbral lunar eclipse happens on February 10.  The Moon will pass through the outer part of Earth’s shadow.  Apparently, it is hard to distinguish between a Full Moon and a penumbral lunar eclipse because the Moon passes through the Earth’s outer shadow. This only makes the Full Moon not as bright.  (That sounds like some people I know.)

I don’t know why I feel the need to know and record the dates and times of the Moon’s Phases.   Perhaps it’s the lunatic in me.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on January 3, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

