This Is For You, Randi

My older sister Randi has a boosha today.  She is 527 years old.  She was born on Wednesday December 29, 1489.  Her birth was part of The Renaissance, and she helped to bridge the gap between the Middle Ages and modern history.

“Randi” is a feminine Norwegian name.  The masculine form is “Randy.”  Our grandmother was from Norway.  When Mom was pregnant, Nana (her mother) told Mom, “If it’s a girl, then you will name her Randi.”  Mom said, “If it’s a girl, then I want her name to be Jeanette.”

Nana was domineering.  Randi’s maiden name is Jeanette Randi Johnston, but no one calls her Jeanette or knows that Randi is her middle name.  Nana won.

Randi and I fought as we grew up, but only the usual way brothers and sisters fight.  I stopped fighting with her less when she was a teenager because I was infatuated with her girlfriends.  I did not want to make trouble.  Unfortunately the infatuation went only one way.  Neither she nor her girlfriends wanted me around.  I still tried to hang around anyway.  Her girlfriends were gorgeous!  I confess that I was a pest.

Randi has been kind to me.  She is doing her part to support the arts.  She surprised me with a Christmas gift this year which showed her thoughtfulness and kindness.

I appreciate your caring and kindness, Randi.  Hasha Boosha!  Luv ya!

 

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on December 29, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

