DRIVING IN A SNOWSTORM

What an adventure!  I drove a car with all-season tires instead of snow tires.  Paul Simon’s Slip Slidin’ Away came to mind.  I made full use of my winter driving skills.

I understand the reasons for the Engine, Tire Pressure, and the Oil lights, etc., on the dashboard.  They serve as warnings that some maintenance is soon required.  Who was the genius who decided the Slip light should come on after the car is sliding?

Numerous times I was slip sliding away to oblivion.  I tried to stay calm as I regained control of the car.  Each time after I started sliding, the Slip light came on indicating,  Driver, one or more of the tires has no traction.”   “Really?”  I thought.  “I hadn’t noticed.” When I tried to turn left, the car would slide in a diagonal line with the Slip light again indicating, “Driver, one or more of the tires has no traction.”   I had to drive slowly, very slowly, to avoid slip sliding away. This caused some drivers behind me to discover that their cars’ horns worked well.

A half-hour trip took three hours, but I am grateful that I made it home safely.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on December 16, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

