ANOTHER PLACE, ANOTHER NUTBAR

The North York Central Library closed on December 5 for renovations.  It is supposed to open in three months.  I now hang out at the Northern District Library at Yonge and Eglinton.  It’s a much smaller library, but the Wi-Fi signal does not weaken the way it did at the North York Library.

I saw Mr. Ping here yesterday.  His war with me has never ended.  Since blogging about him at the North York Library, he never stopped hovering behind me as if he was going to blow on my neck.  He also likes to glare at me.  Yesterday, he walked towards me sinisterly laughing and then walked away.  As usual, I ignored him.

I did not see Mr. Ping today.  Perhaps he returned to his home planet.

Another nutbar approached me yesterday in the afternoon.  Actually, “approached” is the wrong word.  He rushed up to where I was sitting, minding my business, and started making a big fuss over my book holder.  He was in his forties, had a round face with short brown hair. He wore black nerdy glasses.  The name “Poindexter” came to mind.

Loudly he said, “Wow!  What a great idea!  It’s so ergonomic!”

Then he asked about the water-bottle addition and I explained how it stops the book holder from falling over.  I talked quietly, but he was so loud.

“Did you think of that yourself?” he asked.

“Yes.”

“Wow!  You’re clever, very clever!  What a clever idea!”

How embarrassing.  Other library patrons were looking.

“I think the library should supply book holders,” he said.  “I’m going to suggest to the librarian that the library should have book holders for people to borrow.”

He quickly walked away.  I thought that I was free of Poindexter, but he surrounded me later on while I was packing up to leave.

“So, what creative things did we accomplish today?” he asked as loudly as ever.

“I’m sorry, but I don’t like to talk about it,” I said.

“I see.  I don’t like talking about inventions until they are patented,” he said as he quickly walked away.

Poor Poindexter, someone must have trampled all over his boundaries.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on December 7, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

