DOESN’T IT MAKE YOU FEEL OLD?

On Thursday December 1, I bought groceries in a grocery store.  Imagine buying groceries in a grocery store!  I could have bought groceries in a Walmart, a drugstore or a gas station, but I chose to buy groceries in grocery store.  I remember a time when a grocery store was the only place you could buy groceries.  But I digress.

So, yesterday I was in the checkout line when I overheard another cashier wish my cashier a Happy Birthday.

“Is today your birthday?” I asked.

“Yes,” she said.

“Well, Happy Birthday!”

“Thank you.”

“You share the same birthday as Woody Allen.”

“Who?”

“Woody Allen.  You’ve never heard of Woody Allen?”

“No.”

“Well, you also share the same birthday as Richard Pryor.”

“Who?”

“Richard Pryor.  You’ve never heard of Richard Pryor?”

“No.”

“How about Bette Midler?  She was born December 1.”

“Who?”

Bette Midler.  You’ve never heard of Bette Midler?”

“No.”

“You can google these people to see who they are.”

“Sure,” she said with no interest whatsoever.

I trudged out of the grocery store, the dinosaur that I am, and looked for a place to lie down to become extinct.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on December 2, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

