FAMILY SECRETS

 

Why can’t my family be honest?  I do not understand why they have secrets they keep from each other.  The secrets are mostly gossip and no big deal.  Once known, these secrets will not disturb the order of the Universe.

Recently a family member told me a secret.  This family member started the secret with, “Don’t tell anyone I told you, but—”

“Wait a minute,” I said.  “If I can’t tell anyone, then I don’t need to know.  Don’t tell me.”

But the family member was eager to tell the secret and told me anyway.  I did not understand what the big deal was, and why the information needed to be kept secret.  Whatever their reasons, one group of family members did not want the other group of family members to know.

My brain is small enough and I don’t like to burden it with extra stuff such as having to remember what I can and cannot say to whom. That is why I do not want to know information that cannot be shared.   Also, I do not need the drama with family members yelling at me for not telling them something I was told not to tell them.  “Well, you should have told us!” they say.

Many times I have heard someone say, “Don’t tell anyone I told you, but . . . ”   I used to use the same words when I told someone something I did not want to be shared.  But soon everyone knew what I did not want everyone to know.   I learned the hard way that the best way to keep something private is not to tell anyone.

Don’t tell anyone I told you, my family and friends, but please do not tell me things that you were told not to tell.  Thank you.

 

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on November 29, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

