HAPPILY EVER AFTER?

marriager

Have we been lied to when it comes to marriage and living happily ever after?  I know of several couples who seem to be living happily ever after, but they are the exceptions.  Most of the couples I know are living ever after, but not necessarily happily.

Mom and Dad stayed married until death did them part.  After Dad retired, Mom used to complain about him never being around the house to do anything, and never being around to take her shopping.  Dad used to complain about having to take Mom shopping all the time.  He said that he would purposely disappear to avoid doing so.  Before Dad died, we learned that he had been unfaithful during the marriage.  Mom had died several years before Dad, so we could not ask her whether she knew.  How happy was their marriage?

Married men tell me how much they enjoy it when their wives go away.  These men say, “I got the house to myself!  I can do whatever I want and not get nagged about stupid chores!”

Married women complain about how their husbands don’t do anything except watch TV and drink beer.  “He never helps me with anything.  There’s so much to be done, but all he does is sit on the couch, drink beer and watch TV.”

Are these men and women happily married?

How refreshing to know a few married couples who enjoy their time together.  They want to do things together and be together all the time.  They avoid Boys’ Nights Out and Girls’ Nights Out because they don’t like doing things apart.  Are these couples happily married?

Many years ago I met a couple who appeared to be happily married.  I’ll call them Dick and Jane because I don’t remember their real names.  During the entire party they stayed together holding hands.  They were married 20 years and had teenage children.  Other married couples, at the party, socialized apart.  One woman said, “I spend a lot of time with my husband.  When I get out, I like to be with other people.”  Not Dick and Jane.  They stayed together at the party radiating love and happiness.   No doubt Dick and Jane were happily married.

About a year after the party, I heard that Jane was divorcing Dick.  Apparently, Dick had affairs throughout their twenty-year marriage.  Dick’s recent mistress was pregnant.  Oh well,  Dick and his mistress and their child are likely living happily ever after.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on October 16, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

