THE QUEST FOR TRUTH

 

aaatruth

My political views go across the road and then some, and they are not on the back of a chicken.  I look for the truth.  It matters not whether the truth comes from the right, the left, the far right or the far left.  I’m interested in the truth.

I avoid the ad hominem fallacy when listening to or reading what people have to say.  I focus on the message and not the messenger. Is the message true?  What is the evidence to prove that the message is true?

An alarm goes off in my head when I hear someone attacking the messenger to dismiss a message.  Give me evidence that proves the message is wrong.  Deal with the message and not the messenger.  I suspect that the message is likely true when opponents to the message give no evidence to disprove it, and spend their time attacking the messenger.

Some of my family and friends cannot understand why I am not loyal to one political party.  I am loyal to the truth.  I am also loyal to my opinions, judgments, biases, and beliefs, but don’t tell anyone.  I want to think that I am objective when it comes to the quest for the truth.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on September 28, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

