I DISAGREE WITH DYLAN THOMAS

starry-night-sky-background-wallpapers

Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

 – Dylan Thomas (1914 – 1953)

I disagree with Dylan Thomas.  Why not go gentle into that good night?  Why rage, rage against the dying of the light?  Death is inevitable.  Why resist it?

I accept that when Death comes, my in-box will be full.  My in-box is never empty.  There are always things that need to be done.  So when Death comes I may need groceries or need to do laundry.  Perhaps my library books will be due.  But the Universe knows what is important.  Whatever I think is important and needs to be done does not matter.  When Death comes my time is up on this planet.  Death will help me to move to a better place where there is no such thing as rap music.

I don’t entirely disagree with Dylan Thomas.  It’s not just old age that should burn and rave at the close of day.  Instead of waiting until my death day, I am burning and raving now.  I will not allow my soul to be smothered out.  The smothering of souls happens to many children as they become adults and join the rest of the flock.  I will continue to rave and play and hoot and holler and scream and stir things up!  But when Death comes, I will stop this behavior and embrace Death the way one embraces an old friend . . .

“Come in, Death, come in.  Sit down.  Thanks for coming.  How nice to see you!  How was your trip?   That’s good.  Can I get you something?  Would you like a beer, coffee or banana?  Nothing?   Yes, I know we have to leave soon.  Okay.  Just give me a moment to stop breathing and halt my heart.  Thanks.”

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on September 11, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

