IRVING SPEAKS

irving

 

Would my life be any better if I could change the past?  Irving, my cross-eyed amoeba spirit guide, said, “No.”

“It is not the past, present or any outside circumstances that are your problems,” said Irving.  “It’s simple.  You’re not happy because you don’t love yourself enough.  If you loved yourself more, then any outside circumstances, the things you perceive as problems, would not matter.”

“That sounds great in theory, Irving,” I said, “but in practice a billion dollars in the bank would cheer me up.”

“Would it?”

“Yes it would.”

“A billion dollars in the bank would make you happy?”

“Well, deep down I know it would not, but I don’t live deep down.  I live on the surface.  And this world is concerned only with the surface.”

“How long will you be happy denying what is below the surface?”

“I don’t know.  Enough, Irving.  This conversation is getting too deep, and it’s not helping my denial.”

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on August 23, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

