DADDY’S BRAVERY

1

 

My brother and I shared a room while growing up.  We had separate beds, although often we would sleep in the same bed when the monster in our closet was going to get us.   We never knew where the monster went when he wasn’t in our closet.  But we always knew when he was there waiting to come out and eat us.

One night, we called our father because we knew the monster was back in our closet.  I had already climbed into my brother’s bed.  Dad came into our room and turned on our bedroom light.

“What are you two doing in the same bed?” he said.

“The monster in the closet was going to get us,” I said.

“There isn’t a monster,” he said opening the closet door.  “Look.  There’s nothing here but your clothes.”

“It heard us call you and went away,” I said.  “It will come back once you leave.”

“Don’t be silly.  Let me show you something.”

He turned out the light, but remained in the room.

“It’s dark.  Do you see anything?”

“No,” we said.

He turned on the light.

“See?  It’s the same room only the light is on.  There’s nothing different.  It’s the same with your closet.  There are only clothes in there whether the closet door is open or closed.  There’s nothing to be afraid of.   I’m not afraid when I sleep in the dark.  If I can do it, then you can do it.

“Now Gary, get back in your own bed.”

“But—”

“Never mind the buts.  Get back in your own bed.  There’s nothing to be afraid of.  Both of you go to sleep.”

He turned off the light and left.  I crawled back into my brother’s bed.

My brother and I agreed that the only reason Daddy was brave enough to sleep in the dark was because he slept in the same bed as Mommy.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on August 13, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

