AUNTIE EV

It

Minnie and Chic Johnston (my parents) and Ev and Carl Smith married on September 6.  Perhaps not the same year, but they shared the same wedding anniversary.  Every Labor Day weekend, on or near September 6,  Auntie Ev and Uncle Carl came from Buffalo, New York to Toronto to celebrate their anniversary with Minnie and Chic.

Auntie Ev and Uncle Carl were my aunt and uncle through marriage?  Uncle Carl was my Auntie Al’s brother-in-law.  Auntie Al was my mother’s sister.

My brother, sisters and I never outgrew using Auntie instead of Aunt.  Even our mother referred to her sister Alice and Ev as “Auntie Al” and “Auntie Ev.”  Calling them Aunt Alice and Aunt Evelyn would never sound right.

Minnie and Chic were the first to have a baby.  Then Ev and Carl had a baby.  And then Ev and Carl had a second baby.  And then Minnie and Chic had a second baby.  (That would be me.)  And then Minnie and Chic had a third baby.  And then Ev and Carl had a third baby.  And then Ev and Carl had a fourth baby.  And then Minnie and Chic had a fourth baby.

Was the Smith-Johnston Baby Competition over with a 4 – 4 tie?  Nope.  Shortly after the Johnston Baby Store closed, the Smiths had a fifth baby.  The Smiths beat the Johnstons 5 – 4!

I always had a crush on Auntie Ev.  She looked like Mary Tyler Moore.  As a kid I would wish that she wasn’t married to Uncle Carl so I could marry her.

The last time I saw Auntie Ev was seven years ago at Auntie Al’s funeral.

Now it’s Auntie Ev’s turn to have a funeral.  Auntie Ev went to that Walmart in the sky on Saturday August 6.  I’m sure she has bumped into Uncle Carl, their daughter Debbie, Auntie Al, and Minnie and Chic.  Auntie Ev may have even bumped into my friend Domenic.  Who knows?

Thanks for your love and support, Auntie Ev, and good luck with your shopping.  You’ll find the prices at that Walmart better than any prices at any Walmart on Earth.  Godspeed.

quotescover-JPG-86

http://www.legacy.com/obituaries/buffalonews/obituary.aspx?n=evelyn-a-smith-byrd&pid=181017475&fhid=5210

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on August 10, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

