A GALACTIC YEAR

slide_12

slideplayer.com

Anywhere from 225 to 250 million years is how long it takes the Sun, and Solar System, to orbit the Milky Way’s center.  I knew that Earth orbited the Sun, and it takes 365.25 days to do so.  But I never knew that the Sun orbits the center of our galaxyThe time it takes is known as a galactic or cosmic year.  Wow!

Here I sit writing this blog.  I don’t feel the Earth spinning and orbiting the Sun.  I also don’t feel the Sun, and Solar System, orbiting the galaxy.  And I certainly don’t feel our galaxy, the Milky Way, moving towards the Andromeda Galaxy as mentioned in an earlier blog.

Speeds?  The Earth is spinning at about 1,000 miles per hour (1,600 kilometers per hour), and orbiting the Sun at 67,000 miles per hour (110,000 kilometers per hour).  The Sun and our Solar System are orbiting the galaxy at 514,000 miles per hour (828,000 km/h).   The Milky way is moving towards the Andromeda Galaxy at 250,000 miles per hour (402,336 km/h).

Once again, I am awestruck when I try to comprehend all this movement and the distances traveled.  Wow!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Galactic_year

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on August 8, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

