SILENT LIGHTNING

842931-lightning-pictures

 

“What are you doing here by yourself?  Where is your thunder?”

“Uh?  No one told me that I had to be with thunder.  I have always been on my own.  I’m looking for—”

“But it’s not natural for you to be without thunder.  Thunder and lightning go everywhere together because they are two parts of the same occurrence.  Lightning is the light from a discharge of atmospheric electricity, and thunder is the noise the discharge makes.”

“I know that I am the light from the discharge of atmospheric electricity.  This is the first time I am hearing that I am supposed to be with thunder.  I’ve always been on my own with no problems.”

“You being alone goes against nature.  I suggest you go back to where you came from and look for your thunder.”

“I came from thin air here, there and everywhere.  No matter where I am, I am where I’m from.  So, here I am where I’m from and I see no thunder looking for me.”

“This is impossible!  You can’t have lightning without thunder.  It goes against science.”

“Nothing is impossible.  And thanks to you I just learned that I am proof that nothing is impossible.  I am silent lightning.  Does that shock you?”

“Yes.”

“Then I am doing my job, and I did not cause you any injuries.”

“I still don’t believe it.”

“Believe what you want.  Now if you will excuse me, I want to continue looking for a job as an electrical engineer.”

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on August 5, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

