DISTRACTIONS VS. SILENCE

quotescover-JPG-44

If I want to listen to music, then I will listen to music.  If I want to converse, then I don’t like having to shout to a person close to me because of blaring background music.

What is wrong with silence instead of background music?

A young man sat across from me at the library.  He put a DVD movie in his laptop.  He had earphones but the volume was so loud that I could hear the movie and I was about 6 feet (2 meters) away.

He also had a pile of magazines beside him.  He started reading the magazines.  Not once did he look at the screen.  When he finished one magazine, picked up another.  Again, he never looked at the screen.  He listened to the movie while reading the magazines.  Did he have some disorder, or did he get an “F” in Mindfulness?

Why do we need distractions?  Why do we fear silence?  What is it that we do not want to hear?

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on August 4, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

