A SPECIAL FRIENDSHIP

two-friends-cute-wallpaper-768x480

Friends come and go.  I have my blood brother from when we were kids.  We never lost contact over the years and are still friends.  Many other friendships faded because we lost contact for various reasons.  Sometimes things felt awkward if I did see these friends again.  It wasn’t the same as before.

But I have a special friend.  I have known him many, many years.  We used to work together way back when the Earth was still forming.  That is where we met—at work.

Why is this friendship special?  I just saw him yesterday after over ten years of not seeing him. During the ten-plus years we spoke on the telephone sporadically.  There may have been six months to a year or two between telephone calls.  No matter how long between contact, it is always as if we were talking all along.

When I went to his house for dinner yesterday, there were no uneasy silences.   It was so comfortable and relaxing to be around him.  It’s always comfortable and relaxing to be around him no matter how much time passes between contact.

I don’t know when I will talk to or see him again.   A hundred years?  A million years?  It doesn’t matter.  When we do talk or see each other, it will be as if we had been together all along.   God bless him!

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on August 2, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

