THE GANZFELD EFFECT

ganzfeld

The mind is powerful and never needs alcohol or drugs to get high, hallucinate, and have fun.

I made a pair Ganzfeld goggles from safety glasses and white paper.  Wolfgang Metzger, a psychologist, discovered that people hallucinated when they gazed into a blank field of vision.  This is called the Ganzfeld Effect.  Ganzfeld is German for total field or complete field.

I put on my goggles and waited.  When deprived of sensory input, the brain will make up stuff.

water

At first I saw a waterfall in an exotic forest.  Then the waterfall slowly changed into a voluptuous woman who belly danced for me.  Just when I was aroused enough, the belly dancer slowly melted into a cloud joining other clouds on their way to work.  Unlike people who stay in their own worlds when commuting, the clouds talked to each other and laughed and joked.

“I think the meaning of life has something to do with water vapor,” said one cloud.

“I haven’t the foggiest idea,” said another cloud and they all laughed.

img-2564

The clouds and their laughter faded.  Before me was a bird’s-eye view of a city with its skyscrapers, buildings and houses.  This city lasted only seconds before I saw a mushroom cloud destroy it.

mush

I took seeing a nuclear bomb destroy a city as a hint to stop hallucinating for now.

 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ganzfeld_effect

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on July 29, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

