MATCHING COLORS

colorful-background-preview-14

A friend recently told me that he saw a fantastic bargain at a Giant Tiger store: bathroom mats regularly $18.00 were marked down to $2.00.  His bathroom mats needed replacement, so he asked his wife whether he could buy new mats.  “Suit yourself,” she said.  “I don’t care what you do.”

Off he went to Giant Tiger and bought two sets of bathroom mats.  His only thought, which thrilled him, was, “I’m getting two sets of mats for $4.00 that would normally cost me $36.00!”

When he got back home, he thought his wife would be as excited as he was about the great bargain.  How crushing for him when his wife looked at the mats and asked, “Did they have other colors?”

“Yes, they did,” he said.

“I don’t like these colors,” she said.

“Why?”

“Because they don’t go with the bathroom.”

“Who cares?  We got two sets of mats for $4.00.  They would have cost $36.00.  They’re bathroom mats for keeping the floor dry.  Who cares whether they match the bathroom?”

“I do.  It will bother me until we go back and exchange them for the right colors.”

“But you told me that you didn’t care what I did.”

“That’s because I thought you would buy the right colors.”

My friend made two mistakes:

  1. He should have insisted his wife go with him, when he bought the mats, and have her do the selecting.
  2. He believed his wife when she said, “I don’t care what you do.”

images

 

My friend’s story reminded me of another wrong-color story.

My friends Paul and Susan received a nice towel set as a wedding gift.  After their honeymoon, they moved into an apartment.  Susan noticed that the towels did not match the color of the bathroom in their new, freshly painted apartment.  She went to the superintendent and asked him to re-paint the bathroom so the color would match the towels.  The superintendent said, “No.”  Because of Susan’s relentless insistence, she and Paul moved to another apartment with a bathroom that matched the towels.

This happened a long time ago.  Paul and Susan are no longer married.  I don’t know which one got to keep the towels.

color-wheel

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on July 25, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

