MY UNMET DEMAND

 

ttcbusscedule

In their book A Cow In The Parking Lot, Leonard Scheff and Susan Edmiston say that we get angry because we have an “unmet demand.”  For example, I demand that people be courteous.  I get angry when people are not courteous and do things such as cut me off to get in line.  If I let go of that demand and accept people as rude ignorant assholes, then I don’t get angry when people act as themselves.

I am getting angry less and less the more I look at my unmet demands.  But there is one unmet demand I am having trouble letting go.  Of course this involves the Toronto Transit Commission (TTC).  I spend a lot of time on the TTC.  Actually, I unintentionally live on the TTC because of its delays, delays, delays.

On the bus level of all the subway stations, Next Vehicle Information boards give the times a bus is due.  It’s nice to know how long you have to wait until the next bus.

In the Go Bus and Mississauga Transit stations, the schedule boards are correct.  If they say a bus will arrive in 5 minutes, then the bus arrives in 5 minutes.  I have yet to experience a schedule board being wrong in the Go Bus and Mississauga transit stations.  I cannot say the same for the TTC schedule boards.  Rarely are they correct.

On a TTC Next Vehicle Information board, it will say that a bus will arrive in 5 minutes.  After 5 minutes, no bus.  It will stay on 5 minutes for 10 minutes.  Or the schedule may say a bus is Due.  Still no bus.  It may say it’s Due for several minutes and then change back to 10 or 15 minutes.  But after it changes to 10 or 15 minutes, a bus may show up with the board still saying 10 or 15  minutes.

There are many variations to what I described above.  The point is that rarely does the Next Vehicle Information board show what is happening with the next vehicle.  Thus my unmet demand.

I demand that the TTC Next Vehicle Information board be correct like the ones in the Go Bus and Mississauga transit stations.  It’s a reasonable demand, but it’s my demand and has nothing to do with the TTC.  It is not the TTC’s fault that I get angry.  It’s my fault because I keep forgetting that when I see a bus will arrive 3 minutes,  it may arrive in 10 minutes or not arrive at all.

If I can let go of this demand, then I won’t get angry when my clothes go out of style while I’m waiting for a bus.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on June 29, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

