“SOME OTHER TIME” II

5650yongestreet (1)

“It’s some other time,” I said.  “What would you like to tell me?”

“Thanks for coming back,” said the building.  “I didn’t think you would.”

“So, what would you like to tell me?”

“Uh, let’s see . . . Too much money has killed men and left them dead years before burial.”

“Yes, I’ve heard this before.”

“Time as a stuff can be wasted.”

“I’ve heard that before, too.”

“Be different from other people if it comes natural and easy being different.”

“Wait a minute!  You’re borrowing advice from Carl Sandburg’s A Father To His Son.”

“Yes, I am.”

“I didn’t know that buildings read poetry.”

“Not only poetry, but philosophy and classical literature.  There’s not much else to do standing around all day.”

“So, you were giving me some of the advice from Carl Sandburg’s poem.”

“It’s good advice.  Usually the people I give it to have never heard it before.”

“I read the poem a long time ago—way before you were built.”

“I’ve always been around in some form, but not as this building.”

“Okay, I read it before you were a building.”

“The poem is dated with its masculine emphasis.  If Sandburg wrote it today, then it would be a parent giving advice to his or her maturing child.”

“You’re right.  Thanks for reminding me of the poem’s advice,” I said.  “I have to get going.  I have some solitude I promised to creatively play with.”

“You’re welcome,” said the building.  “Stop by again, some other time.”

“I will.”

 

http://www.familyfriendpoems.com/poem/a-father-to-his-son-by-carl-sandburg

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on June 28, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

