“I ONLY WANT TO DO WHAT’S BEST FOR US . . .”

CONSCE

The North York Central Library is going through renovations.  Maintenance workers are moving shelving to accommodate the changes.

This morning I overheard a maintenance worker get into a dispute with a librarian over moving some shelves.   The maintenance worker did not agree with what the librarian wanted.  The maintenance worker said to his partner, “I’m afraid that if we do it that way, then it will come back to bite us in the ass.”  And then the maintenance worker said, “I only want to do what’s best for us, and not what’s best for the library.”

His words broke a dam!  A flood of memories gushed into my mind.  These were memories of working with people who did not care about their jobs, but only about what was best for them.  And what was best for them was finding ways to do as little as possible.

How frustrating for me to see these lazy, non-caring workers get rewarded and promoted.  I would have saved myself a lot of grief if I had not believed what Society told me about working hard and being rewarded.  Life would have been much easier if Society had told me the truth:

“Work hard and you may get rewarded.  But it’s more likely you will get punished for your hard work, while you watch the lazy, uncaring bastards get rewarded and promoted.”

As my memories dried up, I saw the maintenance workers taking apart the shelving.  Were they doing what was best for them, or what was best for the library?  Who knows?

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on June 14, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

