SILENCE

IMG_20160612_163315

What a vacation!  It was only five days, but at times it seemed endless.

From June 8 to June 12, I house-sat for a friend.  She had me look after her cat and plants while she was away.

The good thing about cats and plants is that they don’t make noise; a lack of noise was the first thing I noticed.  No horns honking.  No engines accelerating.  No people talking.  No cell phones ringing.  No music coming from someone’s headphones.  No one wanting to discuss the weather.  Just silence.  S I L E N C E.  Wow!

I had forgotten that such silence exists.  My nomadic lifestyle comes with noise and unwanted conversations.  Even at the library I often have to wear earplugs.  Rarely, if at all, is there silence.  If there is, then it does not last long.

I was so taken by the silence that I spent long periods of time simply staring off into space.  I listened to and savored the silence.  Time seemed endless as the silence went on forever.  Anyone looking at me would say that I was catatonic.

Several times I sat down to write and got distracted by the silence.  I stared off into space.  Before I knew it, a whole century had passed!  I had other things to do.

Has anyone ever heard of silence being an excuse for not writing?

Alas, my vacation ended.  As I write this, at the library, the man beside me is babbling on his cell phone.  Some students nearby are laughing and talking.  (That’s how they study these days.)  A woman behind me is talking to people no one else can see.  I don’t see any cats, but I see some plants.  The plants, like the ones at my friend’s house, are not making any noise.  How nice.

 

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on June 13, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

