ADVICE FROM UNO

magic

“Your problem, Gary, is that you don’t use your imagination enough,” said Uno.  “You’re too quick to limit your thoughts and ignore the infinite possibilities your imagination offers.

“On May 31st, you blogged about having a brick-wall day.  On that day you were trying too hard to think about what to write without relying on your imagination.  If you had relaxed and listened to your imagination, then you would have had no problems writing about one of the possibilities.”

“You’re right,” I said.  “I don’t use my imagination enough.”

“Using your imagination scares you, doesn’t it?  That’s why you limit your thoughts and avoid the infinite possibilities.”

“Yes,” I said, “I fear the unknown.  It scares me never knowing what is going to come out.”

“That’s okay,” said Uno, “your fear is normal.  Be aware of your fear, and go forward in spite of it.  And remember, too, that there is excitement in not knowing.  The unknown is always an adventure!”

“I will.”

“But I did not come here to give you advice.  I came to borrow some books with stories about magic and fantasy, and I happened to see you sitting here.  I had wanted to talk to you, since I read your May 31st blog, and thought this a good opportunity.”

“I’m glad you did,”  I said.  “Thanks for the advice.  I appreciate it.”

“You’re welcome,” said Uno.

Then Uno, a unicorn, walked towards the fiction section of the library.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on June 2, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

