SOME CHILDHOOD THOUGHTS ON RELGION

god

God was an old balding man with a long white hair and a long white beard.  He wore a long white gown.

“Wasn’t God young once?” I asked my Sunday School teacher.  “Wasn’t there a time when he wasn’t bald and didn’t have white hair?”

My Sunday School teacher said, “God always was, and always will be.”

I concluded that God was born old and balding with long white hair and a long white beard.  That is what made God different from the rest of us.

One of the deals I tried making with God was, “God, if you give me powers to fly, then I promise I will be good.”  Even though God never gave me powers to fly, I still felt guilty when I was bad.    I reasoned that my bad behavior was justified because God did not keep up his end of the deal.  Still, I felt guilty about being bad.

I could never understand the Holy Trinity.  I understood God.  I understood Jesus.   I did not understand the Holy Spirit.    Adults were always saying, “Two is company and three is a crowd.”    Why did we need the Holy Spirit?   My Sunday School teacher gave me an explanation about God being three people.  I found it confusing because a spirit isn’t a person.  Besides, why would God want to be three different people?  Wasn’t he happy just being God?

So, why this blog on some of my childhood thoughts on religion?  Earlier today I said, “God, if you give me an idea for a blog, then I promise I’ll be good.”  Now I have to keep up my end of the deal.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on May 19, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

