MOTHER, GRANDFATHER AND THE CRUST MAN

IMG_3978

Whenever I remember my mother, I always think about an incident involving her, my grandfather, and The Crust Man.  This incident affects me to this day.

I was about 7 years old and had just finished dinner.  I hated the crusts from bread, and left the them under my plate.  When my mother found them, she called me down from my room to come to the kitchen.  I passed my grandfather in the living room reading the newspaper.

“Are these your crusts?” asked my mother.

“Uh–er–yeah,” I said.

“Why didn’t you eat them?” she asked.

“I don’t like them.  I hate crusts!”

“You know,” she said, “there was a little boy about your age who never ate his crusts.  Like you, he used to leave them under his plate.  One day he heard a knock at the door.  He opened the door and there stood The Crust Man.  The Crust Man grabbed the boy, and ate him up!”

“Really?” I asked.

“Really,” she said.

Still not sure I ran to my grandfather reading the newspaper in the living room.

“Grandad, is it true that The Crust Man ate a little boy for not eating his crusts?”

Without missing a beat, and keeping a serious face, my grandfather said,” Oh yeah.”  Then he started looking through the newspaper.  “I think I saw something in the newspaper about it.”

Well!  That was all the confirmation I needed.  There was no way The Crust Man was going to get me.  From that time on I ate bread crusts, the front and back pieces of loaves of bread, and pizza crusts.  To this day, there isn’t a crust created that I won’t eat.  All crusts are delicious!

Thanks Mommy!

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on May 8, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

