IN PRAISE OF LIBRARIES

How wonderful that the library workers did not go on strike.  The union settled with management in the wee hours of Monday morning after the strike deadline.  I have never thought about what I would do if libraries closed for a long time because of a strike.

What do I love about the library?  I love the mostly-quiet atmosphere.  I say “mostly quiet” because sometimes I have to wear ear plugs to keep the cell-phone conversations and talking from disturbing me.

When I was a kid, all librarians looked like Miss Grundy.  They were spinster types with glasses and their gray hair in a tight bun.  Silence was the rule.  The librarians yelled at you if you were breathing too loudly.  Now librarians look like movie stars and tolerate a lot more noise.  Sometimes these movie stars are the source of the noise.

I love the free Internet at the library.  How can you beat that?  I know of several people who cancelled their Internet at home and use the library’s.  No worries about exceeding a megabyte limit.

And finally I love the books and the books and the books!  I love the feel and smell of books.  Did I mention that I love the books?  I know an e-reader can hold hundreds of books and takes up less space, but it cannot replace the sensual pleasure of reading a book.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on May 3, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

