GETTING WHAT I WANT

lamp

What if I could get everything I wanted?  Would I be any happier?  I like to think yes, but the Wisdom of the Ages indicates no.  Still, being a human, and susceptible to stupidity, I would like to give it a try.  Perhaps I would be the first human in history to find lasting happiness with material objects.

What do I want?  I want a magic lamp that has a genie who would grant me three wishes.  My first wish would be to have unlimited wishes.   I could never understand why the person in the story, who was given three wishes, never wished for more wishes.  My second wish would be for lots of money and a house.  I would save the other wishes for situations as they arise.

I would not wish for world peace.  That would put the military-industrial complex and members of the media out of work.  How would the defense contractors make any money if we weren’t buying weapons and bombs so we can kill each other?  And then there’s the media.  Who would watch the news if it wasn’t filled with killing and violence?  What would people talk about if there were no wars and terrorism in the news?  How much mileage can you get out of a good-news story such as Granny Smith’s Apple Pie Contest?  That type of news story and the weather would be the only stories in the news if there was world peace.   How boring!

Lots of money and a house . . . I can’t think of anything else.  Of course I would also use the other wishes for family and friends as their situations required.

I can see how having unlimited wishes would cause problems.  Do I dare disturb the Universe?  That is what I would be doing — disturbing the Universe.  The Universe has it all planned out, and then along I come with my unlimited wishes and mess up the plans.  What kind of karma would I be creating by messing up the Universe’s plans?

Forget it.  I don’t want a magic lamp with unlimited wishes.  I’ll take my chances with my life as it is, and leave the Universe’s plans alone.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on March 20, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

