WHAT?

6a00d8341c22ff53ef0105365bb32e970c-320wi

Using the self-checkout machine at Loblaws grocery store this morning made me realize that I need to improve my communication skills.  I was supposed to receive $7.50 change, from a ten-dollar bill, but the machine only gave me $5.50.  I approached the self-checkout attendant whom I have spoken to many times before to give me extra rewards points because I had my own cloth grocery bag.

“I put ten dollars in the machine and was supposed to get $7.50 change, but the machine only gave me $5.50.  It’s two dollars short,” I said.

“What?” she said.

“The machine only gave me $5.50 change, from ten dollars, when it should have been $7.50.”

“What?”

“The machine.  I put in ten dollars and was supposed to get $7.50 back, but it only gave me $5.50.”

“You want points for your cloth bag?” she asked.

“No.  The machine shortchanged me by two dollars.  I was supposed to get $7.50 and it only gave me $5.50.”

“What?”

“The machine did not give me the proper change.  It owes me two dollars.”

“You want points for your cloth bag?”

No, I don’t want points.  I want the two dollars.  The machine shortchanged me.”

“What?”

By this time we were both in front of the machine.  I pointed to the change I had left in the machine because  I saw it was wrong, and she took my receipt.  Finally she understood and gave me my proper change.

Yup!  I need to improve my communication skills.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on March 19, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

