A TOP SECRET MISSION?

Top-Secret

How fascinating to know what people think!

This morning I got on the elevator at the North York Central Library.  I pushed the fourth-floor button.  Then a short woman got on.  She wore black jeans with a black coat and a black fedora.  She pushed the buttons for floors 2, 3, 5 and 6.  Why did she push the buttons for more than one floor?  We were the only two people on the elevator.

As soon as the elevator doors closed, she pulled out a black cloth and covered her nose and mouth.  Did I smell?  Was she going to rob me?  Was she ugly and did not want me to see her face?

The elevator stopped at second floor.  The doors opened.  Keeping her nose and mouth covered, she leapt off the elevator and crouched.  She looked left.  She looked right.  Then she leapt back on the elevator and stood upright.  The doors closed.  She kept her nose and mouth covered.

The elevator stopped at the third floor.  The doors opened.  She leapt off and crouched.  She looked left.  She looked right.  Then she leapt back on the elevator and stood upright.  The doors closed.  She kept her nose and mouth covered.

Was she on a top-secret mission?  Was she going to save us?  If so, then save us from what?

When she leapt off the elevator and crouched at the fourth floor, she left enough room for me to get off.  I watched her look left and right, and then leap back on the elevator standing upright.  She kept her nose and mouth covered.  The doors closed.

There are only six floors at the North York Central Library.  What did she do, and where did she go after she got to the sixth floor?  Who knows?

It’s nice to know that there are sane people out there keeping the world safe.

 

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on March 12, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Maureen Royce

    I’m just not sure if this is a true story. The reason I say this is I know YOU. YOU – I don’t think – would let this happen without some type of response, either verbal or physical. I have a vision of you guarding the elevator door and making a comment that it was not safe to leap inside. Actually, I don’t even think it would get this far. As soon as she covered her nose and mouth with the black cloth, you would NOT be able to hold back. Your funny bone would be itching to say something. Whatever the scenario, I love reading your writing – it’s fantastic!

Leave a Reply

