THE RANT THAT RELIEVED

PlainRed

I remained furious a long time after my encounter with the security guard at the North York Centre Food Court on  Sunday.  Over and over and over, I thought about the security guard telling me not to take up two seats in a food court with plenty of seats and no people to sit in them.  I thought writing  about it (yesterday’s blog)  would take away the anger, but it did not.

It did not help that the public transit (TTC) did not want me going anywhere, after I left the library, with its delays and buses going out of service.

A friend called early evening.  She had seen my blog and could not believe the absurdity of the situation.  And then she started to vent about a serious business problem she has.  She ranted and ranted and ranted and ranted.  I listened.  I have never heard her rant so much before.  Perhaps she has never had the chance because I often talk too much.

While I listened, I noticed my anger was going away.  I had been angry for over seven hours and it was going away.  By the time she finished her rant, my anger was gone!  How odd and wonderful that listening to someone rant would take away my anger and cause me to feel at peace.  I have never had this happen before, and have never heard of it happening to anyone else.

I told her what had happened when she finished her rant.

“I feel better, too,” she said.  “I needed to vent.  Thanks for listening.  I’m glad it took away your anger.”

The next time I get angry, I’m going to call her and ask whether she has anything she wants to rant about.

 

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on February 29, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

