MERRY CHRISTMAS?

xmas_tree_of_books

 

The Northern District Library, at Yonge and Eglinton, still had its Christmas tree up.  It is made of books!  I have never seen a Christmas tree made of books and thought it a wonderful idea.  (I took a picture of it using Pixie, my new cell phone, to post in this blog, but the picture was too blurry.  I later discovered that Pixie still had protective plastic over her lens.)

The idea is not new.  I borrowed a picture from the A. L. Freelander Learning Center in North Carolina.  The Northern District Library’s book-tree is the same size as the smaller tree in this picture.  The Northern District librarian said that she had seen a picture online of a book Christmas tree and “the creative teens” who frequent the library built it once she supplied the books and green paper to cover the books.  She said that she did not have a lot of green books so green book covers worked just as well.

I believe in the Spirit of Christmas all-year round.  I do not celebrate Christmas which means that I do not bother with Christmas decorations.   How joyful I feel thinking about the creativity involved in making a Christmas tree with books!   If I ever make one, then I will leave it up all-year round.  Merry Christmas!

 

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on January 8, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

