AVOIDING BAD PEOPLE

index

Here’s another true story I made up because it happened to me.

I sat down at the end of a row of computers at the library.  A middle-aged woman sat to my left.  She looked normal and attractive from the side.  But when she turned towards me and spoke, I knew she was missing some keys on her keyboard.

“Are you a bad people?” she asked.

“Uh-er-uh-no, I don’t think so,” I said.

“You look like a bad people,” she said

“I don’t think I am.”

“But you look like a bad people.  It’s not good to sit beside a bad people.”

She got up and walked away.

Not only was she missing keys from her keyboard, but her hard drive was orbiting some planet in another galaxy.

Was it my clothing that made me look like “a bad people”?  I was wearing a blue denim shirt and blue jeans.  Did she see prison blues?

Was it my skin color?  Does my dark skin make me look bad?

“Does it matter?” asked a voice in my head.  “The woman is obviously irrational.  Why waste your time trying to find a rational reason for her irrational behavior?”

“You’re right,” I said to the voice in my head.  “Good advice.”

“I’ve got more advice,” said the voice in my head.

“What?” I asked.

“Never sit beside bad people.”

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on December 8, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

