TWO HUNDRED DOLLARS

Some new polymer twenty dollar bills, which is the most widely used bank note in the country, are pictured at Montreal on November 19, 2012. The Canadian Press Images/Denis Beaumont

I found two hundred dollars this morning at the library.  I saw a Toronto Sun newspaper on a table.  When I picked it up, there was another newspaper with two hundred dollars in twenties on top of it.

Why would someone leave so much money sandwiched between two newspapers?  A drug payoff?  Absent-mindedness?

Once I accepted that I was not dreaming and the money was real, I started to debate whether to keep the money.  Actually, I did not debate.  The Board of Directors for Gary Johnston Incorporated (GJI) did. This Board determines policy for GJI.

“Perhaps it is a setup,” said one director.

“No it’s not,” said another.  “Keep it, I say.  Gary spent over two hundred dollars at the dentist yesterday.  Chance is paying some of it back.”

“I say turn it in,” said another director.  “Gary would want someone to turn in his money if he had lost it.”

And on it went with more Board members saying that I should turn it in and not keep it.  The final vote was twenty to three in favor of turning it in.  I did.

Perhaps another time The Board would have voted for me to keep the money.  Neither they nor I are always honest.

Later in the day the librarian told me that a man came back in a frantic rush.

“Did he say why he left the money between two papers?” I asked.

“No,” she said.  “I was going to ask him, but he was in a rush.  He did say that he had given up on the money and was not going to come back to see whether someone had turned it in.  He said that he only came back because his wife insisted he do so.”

So there you have it.  It’s another example of how husbands should listen to their wives.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on December 4, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

