UNIVERSAL HUMOROUS HOLIDAY II

MV5BMTI1MjU3MTI2MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDgxNTE4MQ@@._V1_UY317_CR1,0,214,317_AL_

Woody Allen (December 1, 1935)

Richard_Pryor_(1986)_(cropped)

Richard Pryor (December 1, 1940 – December 10, 2005)

What?  Another Universal Humorous Holiday (UHH)?  Yup!  This one to honor two other giants of tragedy: Woody Allen and Richard Pryor.  Woody Allen is 80 years old, and Richard Pryor is dead-er-uh-75.  Again, this was a private holiday for me, but I am willing to share it with people and other forms of wildlife.

I celebrated this second UHH by meeting an old workmate.  He had a coffee and a muffin, and I sucked on a large vanilla milkshake from McDonald’s.

I first this workmate when I had the high-paying job I left to pursue a creative career.  He has often lectured me about leaving the job, and does not approve of my life in the arts.  He said many positive and encouraging things such as, “When are you going to get a real job?”

“I have a real job,” I said.

“Yeah,” he said, “you write a blog that nobody reads.  That’s not work.”

Not too long ago his  judgement and criticisms would have crushed me.  He said things my father used to say.  But it was a Universal Humorous Holiday and I could only smile and laugh.  I felt great no matter what!  And not only did I have the voices in my head supporting me, but I was also supported by the chair I sat on and the floor beneath it.

I noticed how my self-efficacy  has increased the past few months.  Perhaps The Universe wanted to test me to see whether I could stand the barrage of negativity that used to come from my father.  I felt too good about myself to get upset.  All I could do was smile and laugh.

And that is exactly how one should spend a Universal Humorous Holiday: smiling and laughing.  Cheers!

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on December 1, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

