LIFE IS NOT FAIR

lifeisfair

Life is not fair.  The race is not always won by the swift.  The sharpest knife in the drawer may never get to cut anything because it is not related to the chef.

The other morning I was in a slow-moving line at the library to pick up a free newspaper.  I was a good boy.  I did not butt in.  I waited my turn to get to the front of the line, and when I got there I saw the pile was down to the last newspaper.  As I was about to pick it up, a woman came from behind me and grabbed the paper.  She avoided eye contact as she quickly slithered away leaving me astonished by her actions.

I thought how life often rewards those who cheat and lie and steal and break the rules, and often punishes those who play fair, tell the truth and follow the rules.

The way life works, this woman snake will likely receive awards honoring her for her honesty and contributions to society.  Perhaps a newspaper will have a statue of her outside its office building.  Perhaps she will win a lottery from a ticket she found.  Will she still steal newspapers after that?

The next time I see her I will thank her for the contribution she made to my life.  She reminded me how happy I am when I give up the expectation that life is fair.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on November 29, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

